2021 Awards for Excellence in Concrete

Awards for Excellence in Concrete – 2021 Program
The Concrete Institute of Australia is pleased to announce that entries for the 2021 Awards for Excellence in Concrete program are now invited. Established in 1971, the Awards for Excellence in Concrete recognise and publicise the many significant contributions to excellence in concrete design, construction and materials in Australia.
Concrete related projects, technologies and innovations are all eligible to receive an award. The Institute’s Awards program caters for both large and small projects, as well as large and small organisations.
For full details on the Awards for Excellence in Concrete, you can download the 2021 Entry Guidelines & Conditions document.


All entries for the Institute’s Awards program must be made by a submission through the 2021 Awards for Excellence in Concrete portal.
The entry process provides opportunity to input all the information that is required for the judges to assess each entry, including the entrant’s contact details, the entry description, specific information related to the various judging criteria, and supporting information and photographs which can be uploaded.

The process also allows for the entrant to return to the application to add more detail or to make changes, provided these are done by the closing date which has been extended until 31 March 2021. There will be no further extensions.
An entry fee of $600 (+ GST) must be paid for each submission. You can submit more than one entry but must pay an entry fee for each submission. Fees are
to be paid prior to entering submission materials, and completed by the closing date, 31 March 2021.
Entries will be judged separately in distinct categories. The five categories of entries for the Awards program are:
  • Residential Buildings
  • Commercial Buildings
  • Infrastructure Projects
  • Repairs, Restoration & Retrofitting
  • Technology & Innovation
Residential Buildings

Single dwellings or multi-story dwellings used for residential purposes only
(up to 11 stories).
Commercial Buildings

Offices, industrial buildings, institutional buildings, large residential complexes
(> 11 stories), or combinations of these.
Infrastructure Projects

Buildings such as (but not limited to) schools, hospitals, etc and engineering infrastructure projects such as (but not limited to) bridges, roads, wharves, water resources etc.
Repairs, Restoration & Retrofitting

For both buildings and infrastructure. This category includes projects that have
had significant concrete repair works completed to rehabilitate a structure, or projects related to restoring or retrofitting existing structures.
Technology & Innovation

Includes significant contributions to the understanding or use of concrete as evidenced by research, technical publications, patent applications, new products
or pieces of equipment, new techniques, design innovations, or educational activity.

Awards are granted at two levels State and National.
  • State Awards: All entries are judged in groups based on the state in which they are completed, and winners will be awarded with an Award for Excellence in Concrete. More than one award may be granted in each category.
  • National Awards: Winners of Awards for Excellence from each state will bejudged in their separate categories for an overall category winner. The winner will receive a Medallion for Excellence in Concrete. From those entries, one will be judged to receive the Kevin Cavanagh Trophy for Excellence in Concrete. 

The National Awards will be presented at the Institute’s 2021 Virtual Conference on 7 September 2021.

Awards Partners

The Concrete Institute of Australia is delighted to invite you to partner the 2021 Awards for Excellence in Concrete program. As a key event on the construction
and engineering industry calendar, the Awards program will allow partners to profile their company amongst some of the most influential organisations and most innovative individuals. Opportunities to Partner include:

  • Program Partner
  • Category Partner
  • Dinner Partner

If you are interested in being involved in the 2021 Awards for Excellence in Concrete program as a Partner, you can find out more in the 2021 Partnership Prospectus, or contact us at [email protected]


AX20190910_7315-(1).jpg2019 winner of the Kevin Cavanagh Trophy - Anzac Memorial Centenary Project by Taylor Thomson Whitting, Johnson Pilton Walker, Precast Concrete Products, and Built. NSW