2019 National Engineering Bursary

The Concrete Institute of Australia National Engineering Bursary is a biennial award made to post graduate students studying engineering, chemistry, materials science, building science and other relevant subjects which contribute to the research knowledge base of concrete in Australia.

For the 2019 award, eligible theses are those completed in 2017 and 2018, the years prior to the Biennial Conference of the Concrete Institute of Australia.
The award will be made for excellence in thesis work on concrete and cement based products and processes.  Eligible topics could be related to cement, cementitious materials, concrete, concrete admixtures, reinforcement, related design and construction procedures, contributions to improvements in sustainability, and the like.

To be eligible, the student must have been resident in Australia during the completion of the thesis, studying at an Australian academic institution with the research having been principally conducted in Australia.

The overall value of the award for 2019 is approximately $5,000 and consists of a cash prize of $2,500, registration, accommodation and fares to attend the Biennial Conference, Concrete 2019, to be held at the International Convention Centre, Darling Harbour, Sydney, NSW.

The winning entry will be announced at the Institute’s 2019 Biennial Conference, and the author will be asked to present a summary paper on his/her thesis at the Conference.

The assessors will be suitably qualified persons nominated by the Concrete Institute.  They will be guided, but not wholly bound, by the following parameters – value to industry and the professions, value to the community, thoroughness of the investigation, clarity of the exposition, and presentation.

The rules of submission are:
  • Nomination of any thesis to be made by the Head of Department of the tertiary institution concerned. Heads of Department may delegate nominating authority to relevant Doctoral supervisors. Each institution may nominate multiple entries, provided only one thesis for any chosen topic is nominated by any one institution. There is no entry charge.
  • Initial nominations must be made online. Click on the "NOMINATE A THESIS" link below to access the entry form.
  • Submissions are to be forwarded to Pooja Srivastava, Concrete Institute of Australia, at PO Box 1227, North Sydney, NSW, 2059, or [email protected] by 31st May 2019.  Each submission is to be accompanied by a letter/email from the student’s Head of Department or Supervisor certifying that it is the student’s work, and that the thesis has met the institution’s academic requirements.
  • The hard copy format is to be a recognised thesis format, A4 size and spiral bound.  Only one spiral bound copy is to be submitted and the Concrete Institute of Australia shall retain this for library use. One electronic copy is also required and can be sent via email or on USB.
  • Entrants are required to agree to present a summary paper of their thesis at the upcoming Biennial Conference if they are the winner of the Bursary.


Past winners
Thesis title
Author & institution
Non-Linear overload behaviour and ductility of reinforced concrete flexural members containing 500 MPa grade reinforcing steel
Dr Rebecca Gravina
Particularities of the structural behaviour of reinforced high strength concrete slabs
Dr Radu Bliuc 
Effects of systematic increase in pozzolanic materials on the mechanical, durability and microstructural characteristics of concrete
Dr Mohammed Sharfuddin Ahmed
Experimental and Numerical Studies for Evaluating Dynamic Behaviour of Prestressed Concrete Sleepers Subject to Severe Impact Loading
Dr Sakdirat Kaewunruen
Nonlinear dynamic analysis of reinforced concrete frames under extreme loadings.
Dr Hamid Valipour
Not awarded

Instantaneous and Time-Dependent Behaviour of Reinforced Self-Compacting Concrete Slabs

Dr Farhad Aslani
2017 Post Cracking Behaviour of Steel Fibre Reinforced Concrete: From Material to Structure Dr Ali Amin
Nominations for the 2019 Bursary are now open - have your dedication and research recognised.