2017 Awards for Excellence in Concrete




The Concrete Institute is very pleased to announce a remarkable 51 project entries were submitted across Australia. We are delighted to share and showcase these entries with you at our State Branch events.

Established in 1971, the Awards for Excellence in Concrete recognise and publicise the many significant contributions to excellence in concrete design, construction and materials in Australia.

Concrete related projects, technologies and innovations are all eligible to receive an award.  The Institute’s Awards program caters for both large and small projects, as well as large and small organisations, with entries judged separately across six distinct categories.


Project Entries

Residential Buildings

  • K House - MHN Design Union and Partridge
  • Manly House - Partridge
  • The Alex Apartments - PSEC Project Services
  • 105 Ramsgate Avenue - Partridge
  • Clifftop House - Built Environment Collective with Joe Adsett Architects
  • B House - XL Precast
Commercial Buildings
  • Prefabricated Concrete for the Song School - J Woodside Consulting and SA Precast
  • Orange Regional Museum - Taylor Thomson Whitting
  • Juanita Nielsen Community Centre - Neeson Murcutt Architects with the City of Sydney
  • La Trobe Tower - Hickory
  • Flinders at Tonsley, School of Computer, Science, Engineering and Mathematics Building - ARUP, Lendlease, HASSELL and Flinders University
  • BCM Headquarters - Crosier Scott Architects and BCM
  • ALDI Distribution Centre - Georgiou Group
  • Gama Tower - Taylor Thomson Whitting
  • 1 William Street, Brisbane - Multiplex and Arcadis
  • Solis - Taylor Thomson Whitting
  • Curtin University School of Medicine - Pritchard Francis and Georgiou Group
  • Southpoint Stage B - Aurecon
Infrastructure Projects
  • The new Royal Adelaide Hospital - WGA, KBR, Hansen Yuncken and CPB Contractors
  • Sunshine Coast University Hospital - Aurecon and Lendlease
  • Reid Highway Bridges over Mitchell Freeway and Malaga Drive - BG&E, Georgiou Group and Main Roads Western Australia
  • Denham Elevated Water Tank - BG&E, BGC Contracting, BGC Precast, BGC Concrete and Water Corporation
  • Russell Road Duplication Project - Georgiou Group
  • Museum Station Easy Access Upgrade - Robert Bird Group
  • Wynyard Walk - Taylor Thomson Whitting and Pells Sullivan Meynink
  • Barangaroo Reserve - Aurecon and Lendlease
  • Gateway WA - GHD, CPB Contractors and BG&E
  • Wellington Street Busport - BG&E and PTA
  • SICEEP Exhibition - Truck Loading Dock - Robert Bird Group
  • Jubilee Bridge - ARUP
  • Edgewater Multi-Storey Carpark - Georgiou Group
  • Water Corp Storage Tanks - Eastside Concrete

Repairs and Rehabilitation

  • Webb Dock East Berths 4 & 5 Rehabilitation - Freyssinet Australia
  • The Adelaide Convention Centre Plenary Building, The Aggressive Relifing of an Existing Structure - Aurecon
  • ENCAP6 Rehabilitates Local Council Concrete Infrastructure - Mainmark
  • Riverside Centre Redevelopment - Precast Concrete Products

Sustainability and Environment

  • Emesh 100% Recycled Macro Poly for Concrete Reinforcing - Fibercon

Technology and Innovation

  • Australian Container and Freight Services Logistics Terminal - Northop Consulting Engineers, Hansen Yuncken and BOSFA
  • Condition Investigation, Remaining Life Assessment and Inspection Maintenance and Repair Plan for Wandoo B Concrete Gravity Structure - Vermilion Oil and Gas Australia (VOGA) and GHD
  • Design of Prestressed Concrete to AS3600-2009 and Design of Prestressed Concrete to Eurocode 2 - Professor Raymond Ian Gilbert and Professor Gianluca Ranzi
  • Envisia Concrete and Stokehouse Restaurant - Van Haandel Group, Lanskey, Bonacci Group and Boral Australia
  • Durability Performance of Polymer Concrete Composites Exposed to Severe Environment - Dr Farhad Nabavi
  • An innovative light weight concrete panel system for high speed modular construction - A/Professor Tuan Ngo, Professor Priyan Mendis, Professor Jay Sanjayan, Dr Vinh Dao, Nick Scheuer and David Visser
  • Utilisation of graphene oxide to synthesise superior cement based grout - Alyaa Mohammed, Nihad Al-Saadi, Riadh Al-Mahaidi and Professor Jay Sanjayan
  • Innovation in Product Selection for the Adelaide Convention Centre Stage 2 Development Project - Duratec Australia
  • Ravenhall Prison Project - John Holland Group
  • ConXedge - Concrete maturity and mass concrete management solution - HM Technologies
  • Breakthrough in Reinforced Concrete Theory - Yufei Wu
  • The InQuik Modular Concrete Bridging System - Lifting Point Pre-Form and InQuik
  • 3D Concrete Printing using Cement and Geopolymer Binder Systems - Professor Jay Sanjayan, Ming Xia, Ali Nazari and Pshtiwan Shakor


Who Should Attend?

Our State Branch events are an excellent opportunity to network with colleagues, hear our range of guest speakers, stay informed of current projects being undertaken within the industry and learn more about developing technology and innovative methods. 

Importantly, join us to see who will progress to the National Awards Dinner held at Concrete 2017, where selected recipients will be awarded with Medallions for Excellence in Concrete and the prestigious Kevin Cavanagh Trophy for Excellence in Concrete.

For everything Concrete 2017 - visit our dedicated conference page here